



## 7. Awards and Recognitions

## Outstanding Team Research Award

The Central Institute for Cotton Research, Nagpur has been awarded the ICAR award of Rs. 1.0 lakh and a citation for "Outstanding multidisciplinary team research in agriculture and allied sciences". The award was presented to the Institute at a function in New Delhi at the hands of Shri Akhilesh Pratap Singh and Shri Kantilal Bhuria, Union Ministers of State for Agriculture and Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution, in the presence of Dr. Mangala Rai, Director General, ICAR,

The award was given to CICR for the Insecticide Resistance Management (IRM) strategies that were disseminated all over the country over the past five years thereby leading to significant reduction in insecticides use on cotton and contributing to a high yield. The IRM strategies were developed in a six-year project funded by the Department for International Development, UK and the ICAR, and subsequently implemented all over the country. The project which is currently funded (Rs 875 lakhs for five years) by the Ministry of Agriculture has 60,000 farmers as direct beneficiaries and was implemented in 875 villages covering 1,50,000 hectares in 28 districts of 10 cotton growing states.

The award, which is given away to a team of scientists once in two years, was bagged by the team led by Dr. K. R. Kranthi, Head, Crop Protection Division, CICR, Nagpur. The team comprised of Dr. B. M. Khadi, Director, CICR, Dr. Sheo Raj, Ex- Head, Crop Protection Division, CICR, Dr. D. Monga, Head, CICR RS, Sirsa, Dr. Anupam Barik, Director, Directorate of Cotton Development, Mumbai, Dr. A. M. Narula, Principal Scientist, ICAR and Dr. A. K. Dhawan, Professor, PAU, Ludhiana.

## NAAS Associate ship

Dr. Blaise, Sr. Scientist (Agronomy), CICR Nagpur was selected Associate of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences.

## **Best Poster Paper Award**

Dr. Nandini Gokte-Narkhedkar, Sr. Scientist

(Nematology) has received best poster paper award for the paper entitled "Entomopathogenic nematode bacterial symbiont- a new option for management of aphids" at National Symposium on "Biological Control of Sucking pests in India" held at PDBC, Bangalore on 26-27 May, 2006.

Dr. C.S.Praharaj, Sr. Scientist (Agronomy) has received best poster paper award for his paper entitled "Long term studies on the sustainability of the cotton based cropping systems and nutrient schedules on a calcareous clay loam soils of south India" at International Symposium on 'Balanced fertilization on sustained crop productivity' held at PAU, Ludhiana from Nov. 22-25, 2006.

Dr. K. B. Hebber, Sr. Scientist (Plant Physiology) has received best poster paper award for the research paper entitled "INFOCROP-A dynamic simulation made to cotton, its integration with remote sensed data and geographical information system (GIS) to predict cotton production Nagpur district as an example" at National Seminar on "Plant physiology-physiological and moleculer approaches for the improvement of Agricultural, Horticultural and Forestry Crops" held at Kerla University, Vellanikkara on 28-30 Nov., 2006.

Dr. P. K, Chakrabarty, Principal Scientist (Biotechnology) has received best poster paper award for his research article entitled "RFLP marker for diagnosis of race 18 strains of *Xanthomonas axonopodis* pv. *malvacearum* at National symposium on "Recent trends in diagnosis and management of chronic and emerging plant disease" at Nagpur on 23-24 Nov. 2006.

Shri. M. K, Meshram, Principal Scientist (Plant Pathology) has received best poster paper award for the research paper entitled "Antagonistic effect - of rhizobacteria against *Fusarium oxysporum* f. sp. *vasinfectum* and *Machrophomina phaseolina* in cotton" at National Symposium on 'Recent trends in diagnosis and management of chronic and emerging plant disease' at Nagpuron 23-24th Nov. 2006.







Dr. Mangala Rai, Secretary, DARE & Director General" ICAR, New Delhi interacting with the Director.

The Chairman and Members of QRT discussing with the Director





Dr.K. R. Kranthi receiving ICAR award at the hands of Shri Akhllesh Pratap Singh, Union Minister of State for Agriculture.

Dr. Blaise receiving certificate of NAAS Associate ship from Dr. M. S. Swaminathan, President NAAS

